Wallpapers, wallpapers, oh my.

I’m considering doing desktop wallpapers of some of the artworks I will be creating – give people, you know, a reason to check back in here from time to time – so I was looking into common resolutions/sizes. A quick look over on Blizzards WoW site reveals 11 (!!!) different sizes. Quite daunting. I decided to see what sort of commonality the dimensions share. It turns out there are only 4 different proportions in common usage.

Which means if you are making some desktops, you only need to make 1 file at the resolution of the largest image in that ‘group’.

Possibly even less: if you are careful with the space you leave around the ‘live’ area, you can get away with only 2 files – as of the 4 proportions, 2 are landscape, 2 are square.

I’m attaching a JPEG to show the relationships – and to help out the viewers who use Illustrator, I’m also attaching a PDF. Feel free to download it to use as a template for your designs!

View PDF

~ by Chris on November 29, 2010.

2 Responses to “Wallpapers, wallpapers, oh my.”

  1. […] desktop background, I’m attaching some wallpapers I whipped up, in the 4 common proportions (see my previous post on wallpapers). #gallery-1 { margin: auto; } #gallery-1 .gallery-item { float: left; margin-top: 10px; […]

  2. […] If anyone wants a copy of this to use as their desktop background, I’m attaching some wallpapers I whipped up, in the 4 common proportions (see my previous post on wallpapers). […]

Leave a Reply

 
