Welcome to the Cbaggery… where the Cbagging happens.

So, I originally started this blog (half-heartedly) last year as a gaming blog. Not really being motivated to maintain it, I allowed it to fall into disuse. Fast forward 16 months and I am both re-activating it, and re-purposing it as I find myself on the cusp of a very exciting opportunity: I am starting a new art project… with a rather grand scope.

What is the scope of this art project, you ask?

Well, I’m glad you asked! The scope of my new project is quite simple: 52 weeks.

Over the course of the next year I will be creating a new piece of digital art each week. 2010 has been a fantastic year for me professionally – I find myself re-focused and re-energized. With all the success I’ve been fortunate enough to have this year, I have been able to take stock of my body of work. And, quite honestly, I find that I am a bit disappointed in the lack of breadth and depth of my portfolio. I’ve been in my industry in some capacity for over 20 years now. Yes, admittedly, most of that time I was primarily a production artist, but after 2 decades my book should be much more broad, and much more deep. Why isn’t it? Well, honestly, due to the nature of the industry, most of the digital art I do is either very subtle – thus not really suitable to send out to prospective creative directors – or is very heavily art directed – so I don’t feel justified in taking credit for the work. Although I am very happy with the pieces I do have, it doesn’t change the fact that I need more of them, ranging across all the different styles and techniques I’ve become proficient in.

But, like most creatives, doing work for myself is one of the hardest things to do: without the motivation of a deadline and an expectant client, it becomes faaaaar too easy to just say ‘eh, that can wait for tomorrow, I’ll watch this episode of The Gilmore Girls instead’. Which is why I have contrived this year-long project… I will use this project as a paradigm to explore new techniques, new ideas and new styles – whatever inspiration strikes my fancy any given week – and, ultimately, increase not only my skill, but also my portfolio. It will be an organic process – maybe I will do a pencil illustration one week, maybe a design exercise the next… maybe experiment with photography, maybe explore a new piece of software. Who knows – as long as it’s new (to me, at least), as long as it’s creative, it’s fair game.

One new piece, for myself, each week. No clients. No art directors. No excuses!

And this is where I will document the process.

So, welcome, I hope you like what you see. 🙂

~ by Chris on November 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
