Week 1 finished! (or, ‘You want some of this rendering?!!?)

Great success – week 1 is done!

Even though I spent most of my morning wrestling with technology, I still managed to get this week’s project complete. My inspiration for this piece was the Alien Quadrilogy marathon that AMC ran last Sunday. So, I decided to do a product rendering of the classic Colonial Marine M41A Pulse Rifle!

State-of-the-art firepower.

I’m quite happy with how this one turned out – btw, if you are wondering what the little thing embossed on the clip is, it’s my signature.

Oh, and before any fanboys blow a gasket, yes, the original M41A used in Aliens didn’t have textured grips… I know. I wanted to add a bit of ‘tooth’ to my illustration. My illustration, my rules. So there. 🙂

If anyone wants a copy of this to use as their desktop background, I’m attaching some wallpapers I whipped up, in the 4 common proportions (see my previous post on wallpapers).

2560×1600    1600×1200    1920×1080    1280×1024

Stay Tuned for Week 2!

 

~ by Chris on December 3, 2010.

3 Responses to “Week 1 finished! (or, ‘You want some of this rendering?!!?)”

  1. Nice work, Mr. Baggery. Self imposed deadlines….hmmm….wouldn’t fly in my household. Bring on week 2.

    • Thank you for the compliment! 🙂

      I’m hard at work on week 2 as we speak… I’m a bit concerned I might have bitten off more than I can chew – we’ll see how late of a night Thursday becomes 😛

  2. […] questions on how I created the texture for the grip (giggity) and the slide (giggity) for the Aliens M41A Pulse Rifle rendering. So, in an effort to share my kung-fu I’ve put together a quick tutorial: Creating a Quick […]

Leave a Reply

 
