Week 2 finished! (or, ‘They’re Coming to Get You, Barbara.’)*

Well, week 2 is down. But I’m not sure whether it’s successful or not: I did a digital painting this week, but it’s *not* the painting I wanted to do.

With my spectacular success last week, I was completely over confident… and ended up biting off *alot* more than I can chew. I wanted to do a ‘painterly’ painting this week – experiment with new tools, and new techniques – but the scope of what I wanted to do faaaar exceeded the time I had available.

My hubris got the best of me. I have been hoist by my own petard. :/

My mantra during this whole process is ‘No excuses’, so I had no way to back out… instead I started playing with the tools and discovered some interesting things were happening. So, I kept going. And this is the result 🙂

Zombies!

My inspiration this week was the Season 1 finale of The Walking Dead on AMC last Sunday. Looking forward to season 2! 😀

This week’s project was an interesting process. I have been using the new CS5 artistic brushes for a while now, but I have never made such extensive of them as I had in this piece. The way the brushes respond and behave is incredible. It was alo interesting to realize that the faces began to bear a striking resemblance to various celebrities… it looks like zombie Alice Cooper is hanging out with zombie Roger Daltry. And zombie Sid Haig is shambling in.

As I mentioned previously, I’m uncertain if this week was a success or not, so I am going to leave it up to my readers to decide, by taking this quick poll! (hopefully the link works, I’m still trying to figure out the butter churn…)

Always wanting to give my loyal fans what they want, I have prepared a few wallpapers again. 🙂 Oh, and an FYI, I actually do some different stuff to the wallpapers I make – I dont just crop my illustrations – (I do a few applications of the Funkify filter. 😉 ) – so it’s worth people’s effort to check them out 🙂 But I’ll start putting a thumbnail here so you can check it out before you click the wallpaper link below.

#1 Zombie Apocalypse Rule for Survival.

2560×1600 1600×1200 1920×1080 1280×1024

* No zombies were harmed in the creation of these wallpapers. Any likeness to persons living, dead or undead is purely coincidental. Don’t sue me.
~ by Chris on December 10, 2010.

4 Responses to “Week 2 finished! (or, ‘They’re Coming to Get You, Barbara.’)*”

  1. Reblogged this on Zombie Safe Area.

  2. Love the image! My company is running a zombie survival patch design contest on facebook and we would like to use your image for the promotion (just for the ad, not to sell, etc.). What is the license for this image?

    • I am flattered! Thank you very much. 🙂

      I have sent you an email so we can discuss the details, please make sure I havent ended up in your junk folder. 🙂

  3. Since there is no life after death, these things are on the edge of oblivion, eternal non-existence, and will have you come along, forcibly down over the edge, where there is no is and is no isn’t, no yes and no no, no eternity where there is no time, considering no where where nothing nothing nothing.

Leave a Reply

 
