Week 28 done! (Or ‘A Little Bit of Prussian Blue’)

Another week down ๐Ÿ™‚

During the lengthy break I had after the magnificent beating I took in the first round of last weeks Orion’s Cup tournament, I had ample time to look over the new Cassino sourcebook for Flames of War.

The inside back cover is this beautiful 3-page roll-fold aerial view painting of Cassino. As always, I marveled at how good something can look when the individual brush strokes are actually quite crude. Painting is all about illusion and suggestion, afterall. I really think that is something I need to adapt into my paintings – I tend to fuss over minute details all the time.

brrrrrrrr

The original for this painting is 20×16, at 300dpi… and yet, it only took me about 40 minutes to complete, start to finish, including sourcing reference material! I’m starting to get the hang of this speed painting stuff. ๐Ÿ™‚

That’s it for me for this week… but, if all goes according to plan, there’s going be some huge coming out of the Cbaggery in the next few days. Stay tuned. ๐Ÿ™‚

Cbag out!

 

 

 

~ by Chris on June 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
