Spartans! What is your profession?!

Finally got around to actually taking photos of my miniatures with the camera I got last month.

I love classical greece, and although not entire historically accurate, 300 is one of my favorite films. I saw these models from Tale of War Miniatures and instantly fell in love. When the gaming group decided to start playing the game-world independent game Songs of Blades and Heroes, I knew I had to use these film-inspired Spartans as my warband.

I did a different painting technique for these – usually I use a zenithal highlight and glazing approach. I was discussing painting technique with The Bent Bristle one evening – he uses a traditional layering technique, and I thought I would give it a try. As Miyamoto Musashi said ‘Know the ways of all professions.’

In our discussions of layering, we also talked about colour theory and complimentary shading – well, I just had to try that as well. 🙂 I shaded the skin tones with violets.

I used primarily Vallejo Model Colour for this project – their colours are very strong and cover well. I used some Reaper Master Series paints for highlights – their colours tend to be alot more subtle and muted, and can lead to some nice results.

The blood splatter effects is created using Tamiya Clear red, and was a repeat of the technique I used extensively on my Zombicide set.

The bases are scratch built, and inspired by the Miniature Mentor Basing video.

‘Give them NOTHING! Take from them EVERYTHING!’

leonidas1 leonidas2 leonidas3dilios spartan2 spartan_1spartan_group1

~ by Chris on February 3, 2013.

4 Responses to “Spartans! What is your profession?!”

  1. The bronze is terrific Chris.

    • I’m glad you like it! I have a love/hate relationship with NMM: I love how it looks, I hate doing it. 😉

  2. Really nice work Chris. I love the skin tones and the bronze. Both are really nice. The camera work is great as well.

    • Thank you! I’m surprised how well the photos came out – decent camera + proper lighting + tripod = countless hours of frustration saved. I probably spent around $600 on the camera and gear, it looks like it was well spent: I dont think I’ll ever need to get another one. Speaking of lighting, next time I do a shoot I am going to play around with reducing my shutter speed, or doing something to knock the light back a bit – my models are looking a little bit hot and washed out.

Leave a Reply

 
