Bushido Savage Wave starter set, Part 2

I am Wiped Out™ from shoveling the snow – Snowpocalypse out here! – so excuse any typos. Second stage of the Bushido Savage Wave is complete – this stage is the airbrushed basecoats.

The first shot is of the workspace – double Ottlite’s are on, airbrushes are at the ready, oversrpay/painting station is out, paint chart is out for colour selection and a freesh can of Monster is available.

DSC_0126

The next shot is the obligatroy shot of the primered models waiting in anticipation for the glory of colour.

DSC_0127

THe majority of this WIP will be of Zuba and Waka, with their lovely red Oni skin. For the skin, I will be using my Iwata Eclipse. Here is the first layer of colour – Vallejo Model Air Blue:

DSC_0128 DSC_0129 DSC_0130

this makes for nice, deep, rich shadows, and provides an excellent undercolour for the reds. The blue was prayed at pretty much a 180° angle to the models – straight on.

Next is the first layer of red – VMA Italian Red, sprayed at approx 45°

DSC_0131 DSC_0132

and a couple shots of the Italian Red on the verso side of the models

DSC_0133 DSC_0134

Next up is a layer of VMA Scarlet Red, this time sprayed at about 30° – I am also starting to focus on bringing the highlights towards the direction of the light; I generally have the light coming from the direction the model is facing.

DSC_0135

and a shot fo the verso

DSC_0136

The next step is to brighten up the hilhgits – by mixing in VMA White with the Scarlet Red, at a 1:1 ratio.

DSC_0137

and the verso  – this is the last time I will be hitting the back of the models with any of the flesh colour. This last layer on the back was a quick spray just on the shoulder area. Only Zuba got a hit of this colour on the back, Waka’s back is away form the light source.

DSC_0139

and finally, one last layer of pure white, at a really high angle – perhaps 15°

DSC_0140

For the next stage, I swtiched brushes to my Iwata Custom Micron. I dont have step-by-step shots of this stage – I’m not very good spraying with the CM, and it is a very very fussy brush, so I spent alot, ALOT of time clearing the tip… I wasnt in any mood to keep cleaning my hands and take shot after shot, so I jsut have final shots of the airbrushing with the CM. I used pretty much the same techniques, jsut on a much smaller scale, as I was focuing on the detail pieces. I also made quite a mess of things – like I said, I’m not very good with the CM.

DSC_0141

and let’s not forget Zuba and Waka’s little buddies, the Bakemono!

DSC_0142 DSC_0143

Next stage will be the glazing and traidtional bursh work – which will happen today (if I have the time and energy) or tomorrow.

To give everyone a sense of timing, I did all 8 models from black primer, to this stage in about 4 hours (excluding breaks, snow shoveling, etc, but including time spent picking colours, mixing, cleaning the brushes, etc)) – so, 4 hours actually on the airbrush.

~ by Chris on February 9, 2013.

2 Responses to “Bushido Savage Wave starter set, Part 2”

  1. Love the Savage Wave models. They are on my list of things to collect, but unfortunately it’s a long old list

    • They are definitely a fun group of models to paint – the GCT studio shots dont really do the Bakemono justice – they have all sort of wicked and sinister expressions, with ‘Dirty Sanchez’ being the most perverted. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
