Bushido Savage Wave Starter Set, Part 3

No time nor energy yesterday, but I made time today to do the flesh on the Oni (and the red elements on the Bakemono)

First step is to give an overall wash to the red areas. This tints the deepest shadows and adds some contrast to the airbrushing.

DSC_0148 DSC_0149

 

My mix for the wash is as pictured: GW Baal Red, VMC Matt Medium, RMS Red Ink and RMS Flow Improver

Generally, this stage is where I like to leave the deepest shadows – I love chiaroscuro, so I rarely even touch the back and the deepest shadows, and if I do, it’s just to add a bit of tonal range.

Next, I start bringing up my highlights. This si done with traditional layering. My mix for the first hghlight is RMS Fire Red and RMS Blush pink, 1:1 ratio.

DSC_0150 DSC_0151

 

Another highlight stage is next. Pure RMS Blush Pink.

DSC_0152 DSC_0153

 

3rd highlight – Blush Pink, RMS Linen White, 1:1 mix.

DSC_0154 DSC_0155

 

4th highlight, RMS Linen White.

DSC_0157 DSC_0158

 

5th and final highlight, RMS Pure White, applied jsut on the areas catching the most light: faces, Zuba’s right shoulder, Waka’s chest and belly.

DSC_0160

Next, I want to go back and balance the tonal range – adding or subtracting contrast using some dark washes. First round is with RMS Blood Red and VMC Glaze medium.

DSC_0161 DSC_0162

Second round of washing is with RMS Red Brick and VMC Glaze medium. This was mainly used to deepen the tones around Waka’s belly, and add some more depth in the tonal range of Zuba’s away from the light source.

DSC_0163 DSC_0164

And lastly, the stage where the magic happens: the final colour glaze. THe mix is VMC Transparent Red and VMC Matt Medium, mixed 1:1 – my VMC Trans Red is kind of old, so it’s a bit gooey – I add flow improver to give me a nice thin glaze. This is my go-to glaze for reds, to give them a deep, crimson finish. I like to do a final glaze of colour to tone down my highlights and pull all my blends together. Generally, I like to use inks mixed with matt medium for this, but VMC Transparent red is such an amazing colour, I havent found an ink yet that gives the same tint.

DSC_0165 DSC_0166

I was also working on the red elements on the Bakemono while I was painting the Oni, but I havent bothered taking shots of them – I used the exact same techniques, paints and mixes. I sat down to paint around noon, and finished up around 4:30 – I did take a couple breaks during that time, so total time to get to this stage on the Oni was about 3-3.5 hours.

I may still revist the flesh to pop the top most highlights a bit more. or do some more tonal adjustment, but I consider the flesh to be 90% done at this point.

 

 

~ by Chris on February 10, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
