Bushido Savage Wave Starter Set, Part 4

Finally got some time to paint today – I ran a multi-player game of A Call to Arms: Star Fleet last night, so all week I was putting the finishing touches on all the stuff.

Anyway, back to Bushido – I have to apologize: the first few photos are a bit dark. I rearranged my studio space a bit this week, so my table is right in front of the window… the afternoon daylight must have confused the lightmetre on the camera, so the flash didnt start firing until later in the day. Today I was focusing on the brown elements, the wooden pieces in particular. First up, everything to be brown/neutral got a wash of GWs Gryphonne Sepia, RMS Brown Ink and VMC Matt Medium mix. I wasnt too concerned about the ratio, I just mixed up something nice and washy to push the recesses back and pull the tonal ranges together.

DSC_0185 DSC_0186

Next I started layering the highlights with RMS Harvest Brown.

DSC_0187 DSC_0188

I followed this with some RMS Tanned Leather.

DSC_0189 DSC_0190

Then some RMS Amber Gold. One of my cats is named Amber, and she had golden eyes as a kitten, so I like using this colour. 🙂

DSC_0191 DSC_0192

It’s getting overcast now, so the flash is firing – the remainder of the shots will be brighter. Normally, I like to bring my neutrals up through warm off-whites, but I wanted the wooden elements and the leather clothing to appear worn and desaturated, so I applied a highlight of RMS Amber Gold and RMS Leather White. I stopped touching all the bone elements at this point, they will get their own highlight path later.

DSC_0193 DSC_0194

Next is a highlight of RMS Leather White. I did a bit of drybrushing on Zuba’s mallet to roughen it’s texture, and then painted in the hilights as necessary.

DSC_0195 DSC_0196

Next, I went back to address the shadows and the tonal range with some washes of a VMC Smoke/VMC Matt Medium mix (1:1 ratio) with a bit of RMS FLow IMprover added to push the pigment into the recesses.

DSC_0197 DSC_0198

To further add some depth, I made up another wash of VGC Sepia Ink and VMC Matt Medium (1:1) mix, with a drop of RMS Red Ink added in to add some tone to the shadows – I want to pick up some of the red of the Oni skin.

DSC_0199 DSC_0200

Lastly, I went back with a final highlight of RMS LEather White to accentuate the highlights on the mallet. I wanted more density in the last highlight, so I mixed it to a higher viscosity than I was using for my layering.

DSC_0201

~ by Chris on February 14, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
