Bushido Savage Wave starter set, Part 6

Getting alot of painting done this weekend already! I’m about to head back into my studio for another session, too, but I wanted to post this afternoon’s work.

I’m switching over to Waka’s big, thumpy Buddha head for this one – his model is so heavy, I have to support him with my finger’s on his shoulder; no sense painting the black on Zuba and Waka when my fingers might rub some of the paint off Waka.

I start by applying a wash of an RMS Grey Liner, Flow Improver, VMC Matt Medium mix.

DSC_0217 DSC_0218

This was followed by a drybrush of RMS Stone Grey. I found the effect faaar too subtle though – RMS paints have such fine pigments that they produce very delicate, gradual results when drybrushing. Coupled with the smooth airbrushing, the stone head wasnt getting the rough, pitted, aged texture I wanted…

DSC_0219 DSC_0220

I tried to mix up a VMC to do the job, and while VMC pigments are more coarse than RMS, the smooth airbrush undercoat didnt have any texture to accentuate. Luckily, I have a bunch of craft paints in my cupboard! The coarse pigments found in a bottle of Ceramcoat Dolphin Grey gave me jus the texture I was looking for.

DSC_0221 DSC_0222

To pop the highlights a bit more, I did a second drybrush with a Ceramcoat White/Dolphin Grey mix.

DSC_0223 DSC_0224

With the stone texture finished, I turned my attention to the mossy stains. I applied several thin layers of RMS Viper Green to stain the surface of the Buddha head.

DSC_0225 DSC_0226

This was followed by some layers of RMS Jade Green. I really like using Jade green, because one of my cats is named Jade – she had the most brilliant green eyes when she was a kitten. Amber and Jade are sisters, I’m the luckiest person in the world. 🙂

DSC_0227 DSC_0228

I drybrushed some VMC German Camo Bright Green over that.

DSC_0229 DSC_0230

And did a final highlight by drybrushing some RMS Moth Green.

DSC_0231 DSC_0232

As a final step, I applied a greenish-brown to the stone, to further stain and age it. This was a mix of RMS Oiled Leather, RMS Olive Green and RMS Camoflage Green.

DSC_0233 DSC_0234

 

 

~ by Chris on February 16, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
