Bushido Savage Wave starter set, Part 7

Next up is painting the black elements, and as they say, once you go black…

The first step is to do an overall wash with GW Badab Black to anything black.

DSC_0235 DSC_0236

Next, I prepare a thin mix of RMS Stormy Grey – I use this as a hilight for shadowed areas, and as shading on the hilighted areas. I also undercoat Zuba’s white beard in this colour.

DSC_0237 DSC_0238

The next step is to satrt layering hilights with RMS CLoudy Grey.

DSC_0239 DSC_0240

A further hilight with RMS Snow Shadow. If someone told me they could only have 3 RMS paints, and asked me what to recommend, I would advise Snow Shadow, Ghost White, and Linen White, without any hesitation. These colours are so versatile I find I am returning to them time after time.

DSC_0241 DSC_0242

The final hilight layer of RMS Ghost White. If someone came to me and said the could only have a single RMS paint, and asked for my suggestion, I wouldnt be able to answer them. Ghost White and Linen White are probably the most useful colours I have: one is a cool off white, the other a warm off white. Life without either isnt really living.

DSC_0243 DSC_0244

And finally, this is where the magic happens: the final wash/glaze. Successive layering of black, like I do, ends up making it grey. To restore it’s blackness, you have to give it a nice wash to draw the tonal range together, and deepen the shadows. I wasnt going to risk all this work by using a GW wash (I’ve already had to fix up issues caused by washes in this project) so I mixed my own, with Adikolor Black Ink (not made any more, so I save it for special occassions) Matt Medium and Glaze Medium. I cover all the areas with the fluid, but I dont slop it on, it’s applied carefully. One trick I also use is to use a bit of pure water on my brush to push the mixture into the shadows. And before it dries, you can use a bit of water on your brush to clear the mix off your highlights. I find, with blacks especially, this mix is much more controlled and predictable than a GW wash.

Part 7 final DSC_0246

The good news is, at this point Waka is effectively done! I still need to do his eyes, and do a round of touch-ups and detailing, but he gets to sit the rest of the project out until then. Zuba is in good shape too – he only needs his beard/hair and then the detailing finished.

~ by Chris on February 16, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
