The Bandits!

I had to reshoot a couple of the Bandit photos today: there must have been some vibration when I shot them yesterday, they were too blurry to use.

Naginata and Yumi

Naginata and Yumi

Improvised Weapon, Teppo and Yari

Improvised Weapon, Teppo and Yari

Improvised Weapon, Yari and Teppo

Improvised Weapon, Yari and Teppo

Ronin with Nodachi

Ronin with Nodachi

Improvised weapon, Yari and Teppo

Improvised weapon, Yari and Teppo

Bandit Leader with Katana

Bandit Leader with Katana

Yari's and Yumi

Yari’s and Yumi

Improvised Weapon and Naginata

Improvised Weapon and Naginata

Improvised Weapons and Yari

Improvised Weapons and Yari

Naginata and Yumi

Naginata and Yumi

When we did the very first playtest, none of my models were even undercoated – my package only arrived a few days prior, and I was still painting the civilians – this was my first, and if I have anything to do with it, my *only* time playing with unpainted models… we were having alot of trouble differentiating which model was which, so Ernie suggested that I do something to indicate the different Bandit sub-groups.

My challenge was that I wanted to keep the Buntai cohesive, in case I play them as a single force at some point, but they had to be different enough to recognize them on the table… so, I decided that the unifying colours would be black and white, and each model would get a different accent colour.

I know I am going to get some questions about a few of the models, so I will answer some obvious ones right off the bat:

1) The Yumi are all strung with simple cotton thread. I didnt have any tan in the house, so it’s just white – but I glazed it with a mix of watered down white glue and sepia ink. This served to strengthen the string and tint it. It only took me about 10-15 minutes per model, and the results are more than worth it – I’m very happy how they came out.

2) The mon on the jingaza (helmet) of the yellow Yumi bandit is the mon for Hidetora Ichimonji, the main character in Kurosawa’s Ran (my favorite Kurosawa film, and also the first Kurosawa film I saw… actually in the theatre when I was an impressionable 14 years old, with my friend’s Richard and Justin). I am planning on making my Armoured Samurai Buntai from the Ichimonji clan, so the yellow Yumi bandit stole his kit from my own armoured Samurai. 😉

3) The swastika on the jingaza of the red Yumi is the mon of Tsugaru Nobuhira (1586-1631).

4) The pattern on the jinbaori (surcoat) of the Ronin is based off of an actual jinbaori in the Metropolitan Museum of Art

5) The groups are being identified by the Japanese translations of their colours: kirro (yellow), mizuiro (sky blue), midori (green), aka (red) and momoiro (pink). 🙂

6) All of the spear shafts have been replaced with straightened out steel paper clips – there was no way my meaty paws would have been able to navigate a white metal spear shaft through a pair of hands without destroying it.

I’m designing some very sexy unit cards for all my players, which will include photos of each model – I will post JPEGs of them once they are finished.

~ by Chris on September 21, 2013.

4 Responses to “The Bandits!”

  1. The detail in these guys is absolutely breath taking. The little designs in the jackets are so impressive! Amazing work 😀

    • Thank you very much!

      As I mentioned in the Samurai article, this has really been a labour of love for me. 🙂

  2. That is really impressive painting! Fabulous detail! Have seen a lot of Samurai around this month, and these top them!

Leave a Reply

 
