The Seven Samurai!

I’m sitting here at 2am, sipping a girly cocktail, and processing photos I took today of a huge batch of miniatures.

The first set I am uploading for everyone’s viewing pleasure are models from the Koryu Buntai, by North Star Military Figures for Osprey’s new Ronin samurai skirmish rules.

The Koryu Buntai are sculpted by one of my favorite sculptors, Steve Saleh, and are clearly inspired by Akira Kuorsawa’s Seven Samurai. πŸ™‚

I decided a couple of months ago to run a Seven Samurai based scenario at a convention coming up next weekend in Chatham, Ontario: KEGSCON. I’ve spent, on average, 70 hours a week painting models, building terrain (I have an entire Japanese village on my dining room table!), taking notes from the film and doing research… for the past 6 weeks.

o.O

This is a serious labour of love for me: Seven Samurai is one of my favorite films, by my favorite director. The game Ronin is the game I have wanted to find since I got interested in historical gaming 4 years ago: Samurai era skirmish game. And Steve Saleh, as I mentioned earlier, is one of my favorite sculptors.

I had to make this happen. πŸ™‚

Anyway, onto the models:

Kambei (Takashi Shimura)

Kambei (Takashi Shimura)

Kikuchiyo (ToshiroMifune), front and back

Kikuchiyo (Toshiro Mifune), front and back

Heihachi, Kyuzo and Shichiroji

Heihachi, Kyuzo and Shichiroji

Katsushiro and Gorobei

Katsushiro and Gorobei

I put alot of extra TLC into these models – this is my personal Buntai, and an homage to Sensei Kurosawa himself. πŸ™‚

~ by Chris on September 21, 2013.

4 Responses to “The Seven Samurai!”

  1. Beautiful stuff Chris. Basing, freehands, just terrific attention to detail.

    FMB

  2. Awesome work! I hope mine turn out half as good!

Leave a Reply

 
