Warmachine Khador

It’s been quite a while since I’ve posted – I’m not really a fan of blogging, or of taking photographs, so it’s *very* easy for me to find other things to do.

After the insane amount of models I painted last year, I’ve been enjoying a nice break from painting and gaming for the last few months.

I’ve been meaning to take photos of everything I accomplished since November, but I caught a rhinovirus before the holidays (thank you Ernie!), had a *huge* amount of work projects land on my lap, then snowmaggedon over the holidays and to top it off got pneumonia in January… photography was absolutely at the bottom of my priority list.

The weather has settled down, my health has returned and the work projects are easing up, so I made time this past week to take photos of everything I’ve done over the past year. It’s going to take me a few days to prep and process all of them, but first up is a Khador army for Warmachine!

The local gamestore, Black Knight Games, had a ‘Call to Arms’ event in October/November of last year: everyone who signs up starts a new army (in this case, 50 points) and has to attend Β a certain number of events (painting demos, list building seminars, etc) throughout the 8 weeks… the store contributes $20 per person as a prize pool, which is divided up between everyone who attended the minimum number of events and finished painting their army by the end of the Call to Arms. Now, please note: it’s not a ‘Best Painted’… it’s simply painted. Which means I could have phoned it in and walked away with a share of the prize pool.

But anyone who knows me, knows Cbag dont play that: if it’s not painted to the highest standard I can achieve, it isnt finished. πŸ˜‰

(In hindsight, perhaps taking on a project of this magnitude so recently after finishing the intense amount of work involved in the KEGSCON Seven Samurai project was a bad a idea… it is one of the big reasons I havent wanted to paint or game for the last few months. πŸ™‚ )

My plan was to do a Hordes army after getting my Cryx army to 25 points… but realizing that Cryx is faaaaar too finesse-y for my playstyle, it was suggested to me that a pVlad army might suit me more. I thought this would be an excellent opportunity to build that army.

Whenever I build an army, model stats are irrelevant to me: the only things that matter are how good the models look, followed by the theme of the force. I was absolutely delighted when I realized Vlad is based on Vlad Tepes (one of the inspirations for Dracula), so thus began my theme list. I wanted to pay an homage to Francis Ford’s Coppola’s Dracula, and decided I wanted to have Vlad with Cossack peasants as the centre of the army. As far as Warjacks were concerned, I loved the concept of the Berserkers, and Drago is one of my favorite Khador models – it was a stroke of luck that pVlad is especially good at commanding them πŸ™‚ – so I went with Drago and *4* Berserkers. I added Yuri and a couple Manhunters, as they fit thematically with the Kossite Woodsmen. Β I also really wanted to paint up some Doomreavers – while they break from the theme, having insane convicts chained to demon weapons is too awesome to pass up. Naturally, if you have Doomreavers, you should really use Fenris (although I took some liberties with his model, more on that below). And with some spare points, I decided to include a Wardog… but there is no way Vlad Dracul would have a mastiff, so instead I decided that a Warwolf is more fitting and made some modifications to a Circle Warwolf model.

After I established the theme of the force, I put my mind to the base treatment. Most people do ice-and-snow for Khador forces… but as I am going back to the original source material, I needed to do something more in-line with Transylvania. I decided to make my bases look like the Carpathian mountains:

turda-gorges-canyon-stairs-river-transylvania-romania-landscape-beautiful-eastern-european-scenery-carpathian-mountains-rumc3a4nen-rumc3a4nischen

The last thing I needed to settle on before putting brush to metal was the red colour… I dont like the Privateer Press Khador red – it’s too orange for my taste – but the studio paintjob on pVlad has this sumptuous deep crimson colour, completely unlike the rest of their models. I took that one step further and decided to base my red on the portrait of Vlad hanging in Ambras Castle, which is reputedly a copy of an original made during his lifetime:

Vlad_Tepes_002

so… with that, onto my models!

First up are the Yuri, the Manhunters, and the Kossite Woodsmen.

yuri woodsmenI wanted to do everything in greys and browns, but I still wanted to include the red as accents to tie them into the army. In keeping with the idea that they are woodsmen, I made sure every model was painted differently – I didnt want them to appear as if they were wearing uniforms of any sort. All of the bases, for the entire force, were built and painted before any models were completed – I really wanted to ensure everything matched. They are built with cork and sand, painted with the airbrush and lots of washes to give them a natural look, and finally finally covered with mixes of Β turf flocking to represent moss.

FYI, I switched form using the GW washes (I was at the end of my old Badab black/etc ones… I have not used the new ones) to the new Army Painter coloured inks. The AP ones are better, and cheaper, than the old GW ones… I dont usually use pre-mixed washes – I like to make my own – but sometimes I need the specific properties of a wash – in those times, I will definitely be using the AP product… Β they get the Cbag seal of approval. πŸ™‚

Next are the Doomreavers and Fenris, mounted and unmounted:
doomreavers fenris fenris_walk

I am not a fan of the face of the Doomreaver leader, so I sculpted a bevor around his jaw. Fenris proved to be more of a challenge: while the mounted model has an interesting pose, PP phoned it in a bit on his unmounted version… they kept the same ‘Come At Me Bro!’ torso, but sculpted these really strange walking legs – he appears to be doing a slow-walk forward, leading with the Package of Doomβ„’. I hated his pose so much, I actually wanted to drop him from the list… but, he really makes Doomreavers shine, so I decided to do a repose.

I chopped his torso down a bit, so it could attach to the legs at a different angle and I sculpted up some musculature in the gap. I also did alot of chopping, pinning and sculpting on his legs, so it appears as if he’s charging forward instead of just letting his backbone slide… in the end, I think this was a success: still not perfect in my mind, but 1000% better than the stock pose.

I apologize for the blurriness of the second photo: my house is really susceptible to vibration, and I think there was some construction going on down the street… not enough that I would have noticed, but clearly enough to affect my photos. I lost *alot* of the shots I took… luckily, I always take 2 or 3 shots of every model, just for situations like this. Sadly, there must have been so much vibration that day that this was the best shot I took of Fenris from that angle.

Next is Vlad. No conversion work – the model is awesome enough on it’s own. πŸ™‚
vladand his Warwolf!

warwolf

The conversion work wasnt too extensive here, I needed to cover the Circle filigree on the armour plates, which had the additional benefit of making them heavier and more Khadory… Originally, I intended to make the plates with fewer curves and make them a bit more angular like the Khador models, but on reflection this Warwolf is only ever going to be paired with Vlad, and Vlad’s armour is unlike other Khador armours – it has curves, peaks and scallops, more Gothic than Russian constructivist in style, so I kept the shapes of the Circle plating. I added the flank plates on the Wolf’s hips… I need to do something more to differentiate it from the Circle model.

During this project, I also found that my kneadatite had gotten to old to work with properly, so I switched to using Pro-Create. This is an absolutely amazing product – it has a variable mix, so you can mix it harder for more angular subjects, or softer for more organic subjects – I encourage anyone who mods their models to try it out.

And now, the Berserkers!

zerkers zerk1I was really excited to paint these – what drew me to Warmachine in the first place was that a good portion of the models in your army are big models, the size of 40K dreadnoughts!

Whenever I paint a warmachine of any type, I always struggle with the same dilemma: paint them shiny and new, as if they just came off the assembly line? or paint them weathered and worn as if they’ve been a round the block a few times? It’s always a painful decision: IΒ paint everything so it’s shiny and new and *then* I beat it up and weather it… in this case, especially, I’m glad I did. πŸ™‚

The fact that Drago is sculpted with battle damage and field repairs helped me reach my decision: I had to weather him anyway, so I have to have the rest of ‘Jacks match.

Soot/carbon on the smoke stacks, rust on the steel/iron and verdigris on the brass/copper… I think it came out well. πŸ™‚

I dont use those new GW effect paints – these were actually painted before those products hit the shelves anyway – I mix up my own. For these, I also used oil washing before I added the effects.

The paint chipping is done with the hairspray chipping method (Vallejo’s chipping medium wasnt going to be available on the shelves before my deadline to finish these). My metallic undercoats were very dark, though, so dark (and brownish too… in my infinite wisdom I thought using a rust colour metallic would be better than a white metallic) there wasnt much contrast between the metal and the dark crimson, so I had to go back and brush in the white metal.

And finally, Drago. πŸ™‚

drago

Everything was done in the same manner as the Berserkers… I just took more time doing it all. πŸ™‚

On the right shoulder mounting, I painted the word ‘Drago’ in the Khador alphabet. Also, again with the blurry.

drago2

Lastly, one group shot showing Vlad along with his pal Drago, and companion Warwolf. πŸ™‚

vlad_drago_wolf

While I had 8 weeks to do the whole force, I was side-lined by the rhinovirus for about 10 days, and had some Blood Bowl projects I had to finish up for other events… so, in reality, I managed to get this 50 point Khador army built and painted from start to finish in about 5 weeks. It’s no wonder I need a break from painting. πŸ™‚

That’s it for now – over the next few days there will be more projects showing up as I process the photos, so watch this space. πŸ™‚

Cbag out!

~ by Chris on February 14, 2014.

4 Responses to “Warmachine Khador”

  1. Greetings!

    Love your Khador, they look fantastic.
    In particular I liked the rock formations that you did on the bases. I noticed that some of the rocks look smoother. What did you use for those?

    Thanks!

    • Thank you very much for the compliment, I’m glad you like them! πŸ˜€

      The rocky bases are just broken up cork – like the Rackham guys used to do for Confrontation. To get the varied looks I used two different types of cork wall tiles – one with really large particles, and another with small particles – and just mixed and matched.

      I picked the tiles up at a big box home improvement store – I’m pretty sure it was Home Depot, but it could have been Rona.

      • After searching for hours I finally discovered that and proceed to pick some up at Michael’s. Thanks for the reply though, and the inspiration!

  2. You are very welcome. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

 
