Dreadfleet

I took some much needed downtime during the 90-day closing period after I sold my old house in 2012, during which I painted up my brand-spanking-new Dreadfleet set!

Keeping with my Foldio experiments, it was time to finally photograph my efforts. ๐Ÿ˜‰

sigmar pirate scimitar elf dwarf bloody_reaver khemri ghost_ship skaven kraken

In addition to the amazingly detailed ships, the game also includes some wonderful islands.

islands

I found one island, in particular, really fun to paint: the volcano island.

volcano_island

One thing I’ve constantly struggled with in my painting is making fire/lava look *hot* – I really took my time with the volcano, and revisited it a couple times… ‘It’s not hot enough!’ ๐Ÿ™‚

The set also includes a ton of extra bits, the Auxiliary vessels for each ship, treasure tokens, monsters and ship wreck markers.

auxiliaries

Lastly, the ‘gubbins’ that come with the set – ruler, turning wheel, wind marker – are very, very ornate, and were quite a bit of fun to paint. I laboured over the wind marker, in particular, for many hours. ๐Ÿ™‚

extras

Alas, much like with my Space Hulk set, this also also needs to go to make room on my shelves, and is also for sale on ebay –ย http://www.ebay.ca/itm/111706974298?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649 – though, I do have to admit, I am a *bit* sorry to see it go. ๐Ÿ™‚

~ by Chris on June 29, 2015.

2 Responses to “Dreadfleet”

  1. These are all great! Well done!

    • Thank you very much! If you know anyone who could give this set a good home, please feel free to forward the link. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
