Space Hulk 3rd edition

Continuing with my Foldio experiments, I finally got around to taking photos of my 3rd Edition Space Hulk set.

I painted all of these back in 2010, and this set has the distinction of being the *last* models I painted using the old-GW style of painting – equal lighting all around – before switching to a zenithal highlighting method.

sgt1 sgt2 terms1 terms2 terms3

For the Librarian, I wanted to do something different – I’ve never been a fan of the bright blue GW uses for Ultramarines and Librarians, so I instead painted him in gold armour, taking inspiration from the armour that the Blood Angels captains tend to wear. This was also the first time I really tried extensive NMM techniques.

librarian

While I havent been a big fan of the physical redesign of the Genestealers, I prefer the older 1st/2nd edition 40K style, I absolutely *love* the Broodlord… by far the nicest Broodlord model they have ever made.

broodlord genestealers2 genestealers1

The set also includes a few extra bits, one of which is a long dead Marine in Terminator armour. I’ve never done anything like this before, and it turned out to be one of my favorite models to paint (along with the Broodlord) in the entire set.

extras

I’m actually selling this set on ebay right now – http://www.ebay.ca/itm/111706966816?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649 – 1v1 boardgames dont really do it for me, and I absolutely have to make room on my shelves for more stuff. 😉

~ by Chris on June 29, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
