Cadian Shock Troops

I picked up a copy of the Astra Militarum army box back in late 2022 – with all the models in the box being new sculpts, I wanted to see how quickly I could get the box built, painted, photographed, and listed on ebay, to take advantage of the ‘new hotness’ of the kits.

The exercise turned out to be a worthwhile endeavour: one collector bought out all the separate auctions a couple weeks after we listed them! It was a great surprise to get, and, on top of that, he left some wonderful feedback:



Having a happy buyer always gives me such a rush. 😀

I have every intention of repeating this process for all the new boxed armies and sets, but I currently have such a huge backlog of painting projects – both personal and ‘commercial’ – that it’s not really a wise course of action at this time.

But, I digress… back to the matter at hand, and the reason you clicked on the title: Cadian Shock Troops!

Each squad of 10 took me around 12 hours to do, so about 75 minutes a model (!!!!) including transfers.

And speaking of transfers, I never really used them in the past – I always found them fussy, and didnt like the finish… I would instead hand paint all my numbering and markings, which, obviously, takes a significant amount of time – and it’s hard to maintain consistency across a range of models.

Painting for other people means that I need to be really mindful of the final product – while I might not mind variations in markings on my models, a potential buyer will likely prefer a consistent, cohesive appearance. So, transfers are the only way to go! I’ve started using MicroSol and MicroSet, and, honestly, I couldnt be happier with how the transfers ended up looking. 🙂

Lastly, you may have noticed that Frame of Mind Studio logo on the new photos: I’ve decided to start watermarking my miniature photos with my logo, which is the first step in a full rebrand for my painting activities – I do plan on redoing the look of this blog as well, and tying all my social media together.

All this effort, just to paint toy soldiers for other people. 🙂

~ by Cbag on March 13, 2024.

2 Responses to “Cadian Shock Troops”

  1. […] in late 2022 and sold on ebay (along with the rest of the Cadia Stands boxed set, as mentioned in this post) in Jan 2023. I think this might have been the first time I ever painted up Artillery pieces… […]

  2. […] was painted to Tabletop level in late 2022, and sold on ebay in Jan 2023, with the rest of the Cadians. I spent 5 hours on this model, including transfer and base work.Much like with the Field Ordnance […]

Leave a comment