Cadian Field Ordnance Battery

Continuing with the Cadian models, today I have photos of the Field Ordnance Battery – a bombast field gun and a malleus rocket launcher.

These were painted in late 2022 and sold on ebay (along with the rest of the Cadia Stands boxed set, as mentioned in this post) in Jan 2023.

I think this might have been the first time I ever painted up Artillery pieces… I know I painted up a few Dark Elf Bolt Throwers waaaay back in the 90s, but never anything for 40k. And, even if I did, they certainly wouldnt have been this big or complex! o.O

I wanted to create the effect of a worn and pitted paint job, so I used a mix of drybrushing and stippling followed by glazing for the guns and ammo boxes/accessories. The crew were painted at the same time and the same way as the other infantry to ensure consistency.

I normally completely build my models before painting, but in this case I did do sub assemblies: each of the crew, the ammo boxes, and the guns were all separate. In both cases the gunners hands were attached to the guns – the hands are part of the wheels on the gun – in hindsight, it would have been a better idea to attach the hands to the gunner, then attach the whole piece to the artillery: slight variations in colour/tone wont matter on the wheels, but will matter on the flesh.

These were painted to Tabletop Quality level, and took 14 hours for the pair, including the crew, accessories, and decal work.

~ by Cbag on March 26, 2024.

One Response to “Cadian Field Ordnance Battery”

  1. […] of the Cadians. I spent 5 hours on this model, including transfer and base work.Much like with the Field Ordnance Battery, I wanted to to have the effect of something worn and pitted, instead of fresh off the assembly […]

Leave a comment